Creative Commons By Attribution-Non Commercial-Share Alike

User-generated content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

What is OpenStudy?

We are an award winning community of learners, with about 40% high school, 40% college students and 20% teachers, professionals, retired educators and just teaching enthusiasts.

What is OpenStudy’s vision?

Every student has a right to free study help.
No student should have to struggle alone. Get Help Now
No student should have to study alone

What does OpenStudy offer teachers?

We welcome educators to join our community and participate in helping learners succeed. Many of our moderators are current or retired educators and participate because they enjoy teaching in informal environments.

We offer OpenStudy as a community of help to all educational institutions, traditional and online courses, completely free. Your students can get the help they need, 24/7 without placing an additional burden on you. Place an OpenStudy widget on your school site. (Instructions here) See the OpenStudy widget on MIT OCW’s most popular courses.

We partner with schools and colleges to help in the fight for academic integrity.

If you wish to report copyright violations, please follow the process below.


Who built this and why?

OpenStudy was built by college professors, Preetha Ram and Ashwin Ram, and was based on their research in collaborative problem based learning environments cited below. Learning sciences has established the advantages of peer-to-peer learning and in research performed by GT, OpenStudiers self-reported increased motivation, improved grades and engagement. In research performed by Cuyahoga Community College, instructors found a 66% improved success outcomes in a developmental math cohort that used OpenStudy versus a non OpenStudy cohort. OpenStudy functions as a community of practice where learners build relationships and actively support one another’s learning.

How was this site developed?

OpenStudy was developed with grants from the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, and the Flora and William Hewlett Foundation.