At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio dignissimos ducimus qui blanditiis praesentium voluptatum deleniti atque corrupti quos dolores et quas molestias excepturi sint occaecati cupiditate non provident, similique sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollitia animi, id est laborum et dolorum fuga. Et harum quidem rerum facilis est et expedita distinctio. Nam libero tempore, cum soluta nobis est eligendi optio cumque nihil impedit quo minus id quod maxime placeat facere possimus, omnis voluptas assumenda est, omnis dolor repellendus. Itaque earum rerum hic tenetur a sapiente delectus, ut aut reiciendis voluptatibus maiores alias consequatur aut perferendis doloribus asperiores repellat.
If supplies cost $0.02 per card and you make 5 cards, how much does that cost you?
I need help on this one
Sorry for the break. How did you get $5 cost to make 5 cards?
or would it be 2.50
Ok, sorry. I was talking about just how much it costs, ignoring how much you make off of it. So if we ignore how much you sell the card for, how do you find how much it cost you to make 5 cards?
Right. So for a given number of cards c, how much does it cost just to make that number of cards?
so the cost function would be 600 cards produced and sold
Er... Wait. No. If you calculated the cost of making 5 cards as 0.02x5, then the cost of making c cards is 0.02c, right?
Now, the cost function also takes into account starting costs and then profit made. So, if you sell 5 cards (ignore how much it costs to actually make them), how much do you get for them?
yes but c has to represent the number of cards produced and sold
Right, we're dealing with the sold part right now. Call it `n' instead if that makes more sense to you.
to make 5 cards
So if it costs 0.02n to make n cards, and you get 0.5m when you sell m cards, if you make and cell c cards, how much do you get in total?
Well we're talking about some number c of cards, so it can't be an absolute number; it has to be in terms of c.
Yes, but for some arbitrary number of cards, c, how much would we make total, including how much it cost us to make the cards and how much we made selling them?
it is costing .02 per card to make and selling them for .50 each. $1.00 to make 5 cards and if we sell 5 cards at .50 then the total would be 3.50
Still not clear how you're getting that it costs $1 to make 5 cards. 5 x 0.02 is not $1, it's $0.10.
oh putting my decimal in the wrong place. then it would be $5.00 to make 5 cards
So it costs you $0.10 to make the five cards, you get $3.50 for selling them, so the net amount that you make is $3.50 - $0.10 = $3.40. You can express this by writing an equation for your net income, N: N = 0.5c - 0.02c Then, you have to subtract your initial costs so that you can find the point at which you break even: N = 0.5c - 0.02c - 30000 Then the point where you break even is where N = 0, so you can solve for c, the number of cards where you have made the same amount as you have spent.
I am selling each card for .50
c(x)=30,000+.02x r(x)=.50x .50x=30,000+.02x -.02= -.02x .48x=30,000 .48/.48=30,000/.48= 625 cards
is this right???
then the break even point is .50(625)=(625, 312.50)
is this right???
Close -- you messed up your division. 30000/0.48 is 62500. The rest is perfect!
so my break even point in (62500, 31250)
Sounds about right.
or should it be (625.00,312.50)