A yogurt company estimates that the revenue from selling x containers of yogurt is 4.5x. Its cost, C, in dollars, for producing this # of containers of yogurt is C(s)=0.0001x^2+2x+3200. Determine the marginal profit from selling 4000 containers of yogurt.
Stacey Warren - Expert brainly.com
Hey! We 've verified this expert answer for you, click below to unlock the details :)
At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio dignissimos ducimus qui blanditiis praesentium voluptatum deleniti atque corrupti quos dolores et quas molestias excepturi sint occaecati cupiditate non provident, similique sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollitia animi, id est laborum et dolorum fuga.
Et harum quidem rerum facilis est et expedita distinctio. Nam libero tempore, cum soluta nobis est eligendi optio cumque nihil impedit quo minus id quod maxime placeat facere possimus, omnis voluptas assumenda est, omnis dolor repellendus.
Itaque earum rerum hic tenetur a sapiente delectus, ut aut reiciendis voluptatibus maiores alias consequatur aut perferendis doloribus asperiores repellat.
I got my questions answered at brainly.com in under 10 minutes. Go to brainly.com now for free help!
So my answer was $5.70, but the actual answer was something like $1.70.
My formula, to find the profit equation, is P(x)=R(x)-C(x), which was 4.5x-0.0001x^2+2x+3200.
The derivative was P'(x)=-0.0002x+6.5 (according to my work, not sure). I then subbed in 4000 into that equation.
Not the answer you are looking for? Search for more explanations.
I think the error made is when u calculate marginal profits from total profits. Don't think it work that way. Marginal profits must be calculated from marginal cost and marginal revenue.
So i went ahead to differentiate total cost,
Marginal Cost, MC = 0.0002x+2
Substitute x= 4000, MC= 0.0002(4000)+2 = 2.8
Differentiating total revenue,
marginal revenue, MR = 4.5
Marginal Profits = Marginal Revenue - Marginal Cost
= 4.5 - 2.8
Ok. Give me a second, I need a drink of water.
Ok. thank you. I figured it out with your assistance.