Quantcast

A community for students. Sign up today!

Here's the question you clicked on:

55 members online
  • 0 replying
  • 0 viewing

SNIIX18

  • one year ago

Two college teams, A and B, are playing a game of tug of war. Team A applies a force of 103 newton's, but the rope does not move in any direction. What can you say about the force applied by Team B? (A) Team B applies the same force as Team A. (B) Team B applies more force than Team A. (C) Team B applies less force than Team A. (D) Team B does not apply and force on Team A. I NEED HELP ASAP!!!!!!!!

  • This Question is Closed
  1. SNIIX18
    • one year ago
    Best Response
    You've already chosen the best response.
    Medals 0

    @Abhishek619 can you help me

  2. Abhishek619
    • one year ago
    Best Response
    You've already chosen the best response.
    Medals 0

    i'll try my best..let me read the question. :)

  3. SNIIX18
    • one year ago
    Best Response
    You've already chosen the best response.
    Medals 0

    Okay thank you :)

  4. Abhishek619
    • one year ago
    Best Response
    You've already chosen the best response.
    Medals 0

    well, what can you say about an object when it does not move even if many forces act on it.? it is obvious that the obect is in equilibrium. do you agree?

  5. SNIIX18
    • one year ago
    Best Response
    You've already chosen the best response.
    Medals 0

    yes i agree so its a since the object is equilibrium

  6. Abhishek619
    • one year ago
    Best Response
    You've already chosen the best response.
    Medals 0

    |dw:1373312331135:dw| we know that the point does not move. if team A applies 103 newton, will the point move if team B applies an equal of 103 N at the opposite direction?

  7. SNIIX18
    • one year ago
    Best Response
    You've already chosen the best response.
    Medals 0

    no

  8. Abhishek619
    • one year ago
    Best Response
    You've already chosen the best response.
    Medals 0

    good. that's exactly what the answer is.:) when the rope does not move, the opposite team must be applying the same force as that of team A which is 103 N opposite.

  9. Abhishek619
    • one year ago
    Best Response
    You've already chosen the best response.
    Medals 0

    if team B had applied a force less or greater than 103N, the point would move.

  10. Not the answer you are looking for?
    Search for more explanations.

    Search OpenStudy
    • Attachments:

Ask your own question

Ask a Question
Find more explanations on OpenStudy

Your question is ready. Sign up for free to start getting answers.

spraguer (Moderator)
5 → View Detailed Profile

is replying to Can someone tell me what button the professor is hitting...

23

  • Teamwork 19 Teammate
  • Problem Solving 19 Hero
  • You have blocked this person.
  • ✔ You're a fan Checking fan status...

Thanks for being so helpful in mathematics. If you are getting quality help, make sure you spread the word about OpenStudy.

This is the testimonial you wrote.
You haven't written a testimonial for Owlfred.