A community for students.

Here's the question you clicked on:

55 members online
  • 0 replying
  • 0 viewing


  • one year ago

a draw poker player may discard some of his 5 cards and be dealt new ones. the rules say he cannot discard all 5. how many sets of cards can be discarded? I saw someone answered it online as: This is a problem on combinations. The first answer is 5C4+ (when he discards 4 cards out of 5) + 5C3 (3 out of 5) + 5C2....upto 5C1 which is equal to 30. In addition to this is the case when he does not discard any card at all therefore 1. = 30+1=31 can someone tell me what this means? please help!

  • This Question is Open

    Not the answer you are looking for?
    Search for more explanations.

    • Attachments:

Ask your own question

Sign Up
Find more explanations on OpenStudy
Privacy Policy

Your question is ready. Sign up for free to start getting answers.

spraguer (Moderator)
5 → View Detailed Profile

is replying to Can someone tell me what button the professor is hitting...


  • Teamwork 19 Teammate
  • Problem Solving 19 Hero
  • You have blocked this person.
  • ✔ You're a fan Checking fan status...

Thanks for being so helpful in mathematics. If you are getting quality help, make sure you spread the word about OpenStudy.

This is the testimonial you wrote.
You haven't written a testimonial for Owlfred.